Central New Jersey

Central Jersey is a region in the middle section of the state of New Jersey in the United States of America.

Lacking any official definition, there are varying descriptions as to what comprises Central Jersey. All tend to include Middlesex and the region radiating from New Brunswick including much of Monmouth, Mercer, and Somerset counties. Inclusion of adjacent areas of Hunterdon, Union, and Ocean counties is subjective and a source of debate.

New Jersey’s geographic center is located in Hamilton Township. In 2011 the population center of the state was alongside Nenninger Lane in the western portion of East Brunswick Township which is also known as the ‘Heart of Middlesex County”.

There are other related, overlapping areas that include counties in the midsection of the state.

North Jersey and South Jersey are the northern and southern halves of New Jersey. While there is agreement that their border is somewhere in the middle third of the state, there is no official definition.

While the region is considered part of the New York metropolitan area in its greatest extent, Mercer County constitutes a separate Metropolitan Statistical Area. The Metropolitan Statistical Areas of New Jersey further subdivides the middle third of the state into smaller groups of counties.

The New Jersey Department of Tourism places Middlesex and Union in the Gateway Region and Mercer in the Delaware Valley. Monmouth and Ocean are considered part of the Jersey Shore, while Somerset and Hunterdon are part of Skylands Region.

The Raritan Valley is the region along the middle reaches of the Raritan River, and its North Branch and South Branch. Branchburg, Bridgewater, Somerville, Raritan, Green Brook, North Plainfield, Bound Brook, and South Bound Brook, which are all in Somerset, and Piscataway, South Plainfield, New Brunswick, Highland Park, Edison, Middlesex, Dunellen, and Metuchen, which are all in the northern and central portions of Middlesex County, New Jersey and Plainfield in southwestern Union County.

The Raritan Bayshore is used to describe the region in Monmouth County along the coast of the Raritan Bay from South Amboy to Sandy Hook.

Kingston is the only tri-county community in New Jersey.

Our specialty is Metuchen, Edison, The Woodbridge New Jersey Municipal coverage and the whole Middlesex County.